What You Need to Know About Child Care Reopening in New Jersey
It can get very confusing when it comes to COVID 19 and "reopening" especially here in the Garden State. We are just about to start "phase two" and we may be getting more news today from Governor Murphy.
One area that is of huge interests to parents in New Jersey is child care. In a recent Patch article they broke down the latest news on child care and we wanted to share that with you to make your understanding a bit easier when it comes to your kids.
- Beginning 6 a.m.- June 15th, child care centers and other child care facilities are permitted to resume operations for all clients, provided that they comply with the COVID-19 Child Care Standards and other applicable statutes, regulations, and Executive Orders.
- Childcare centers will be required to screen children and staff each day, prior to entry into the center. Anyone exhibiting symptoms or with a fever more than 100.4 degrees will be prohibited from entering the center.
- Each center must submit an attestation to the Department of Children and Families no later than 24 hours prior to the anticipated opening date, or in the case of currently operating emergency child care centers, within 14 days of the effective date of the order, attesting that it will follow all applicable health and safety standards, as detailed in the COVID-19 Child Care Standards.
- Childcare staff will be required to wear cloth masks, and children over the age of 2 will be encouraged, whenever feasible, to wear masks. Masks will not be required when they would inhibit an individual's health. Masks for children under the age of 2 or during nap-time will be prohibited as they may pose a suffocation hazard for young children.
- Class and group sizes will be limited, and groups must be spaced out throughout the center. Staff members will not be able to move between groups.
- Childcare centers will be required to engage in enhanced cleaning and sanitation practices.