Contact Us

Flood-Battered Farmers Getting Federal Support

Farmers in Ocean, Atlantic, Burlington and seven other counties devastated by summer rain, winds and flooding can recover with newly-authorized federal loans.

flickr, Jason Dirks

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued a disaster declaration in light of what officials view as significant agricultural losses in the torrential downpours and whipping winds from May through the end of September.

“The sheer amount of rain, flooding and extreme weather that South Jersey experienced this past summer was far beoynd what our farms and crops could handle,” said Representative Frank Lobiondo (R-2) in response to the decree.

 “With this declaration, farmers willhave access to emergency loans throughte Farm Service Agency to recoup their losses and rebuild their operations.”

Farm operators have eight months to apply. Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, and Salem are also primary recipients. Monmouth and Mercer Counties are included as contiguous disaster counties.

The message from the USDA to Governor Christie can be read here.

Best of WOBM

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for WOBM Listener Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive WOBM Listener Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.