Dedication, professionalism, and community involvement earn prestigious departmental honors for two patrolmen in the Stafford Township Police Department.

Patrolmen Erik Smithman, Joseph Luna (Stafford Township PD)
Patrolmen Erik Smithman, Joseph Luna (Stafford Township PD)

Patrolman Erik Smithman is the force's 2015 Police Officer of the Year. Patrolman Joseph Luna was awarded the coveted Henry "Rick" Drappi Award.

The entire staff of officers votes annually, to recognize high work ethic standards, motivation, dedication and integrity that embody the police department's mission and its role in Stafford Township life.

Officials said that Smithman's designation as Police Officer of the Year reflects his "dedication and commitment to the department, the community and his profession." He joined the force in August, 2012. hassince joining the force in August, 2012.

The Rick Drappi Award commemorates the memory of the Stafford Township officer who died in a car crash on September 10,1978. It is bestowed on officers who exemplify "the unselfish dedication, pride and concern for others that Officer Drappi lived every day."

Patrolman Luna became a member of the Stafford Police Department in June, 2015, following 10 years on the Tuckerton force.

Officials said that both officers have been singled out for several departmental awards during their tenures.

More From 92.7 WOBM