Little did we know when we started the WOBM/Gateway Toyota Student of the Week program in 1996 that it would become an annual effort to salute the top senior students in Ocean County high schools. 

Yet that’s just what it’s become as over 16 years we have honored nearly 600 students from Jackson to Tuckerton in weekly tributes on 92.7 WOBM during the school year.  The students are selected by the schools themselves and are usually standouts in academics, athletics, music, leadership and the community.  In addition their work ethic, sense of morality and ability to get along with others make them ideal representatives of their school.

Each of this year’s 38 weekly honorees received a framed certificate and one of them is going to receive a $1000 college scholarship.  That will be determined at 8:20 this morning when Mike Dowd, General Sales Manager at Gateway Toyota in Toms River joins me live in the studio.  Mike will randomly draw out one name to receive the $1000 from Gateway and WOBM.


This school year’s honorees were:

Barnegat- Brittany Elasser                      Amanda Glowacki

Brick Twp- Brian Murphy                         Jackie Price

Brick Mem- Justin Hockaday                      Michala Tivenan

Central Gina Cowdrick                        Ashley Bernath

Jackson Lib- Alexa Fontana                         Ahmed Shalabi

Jackson Mem- Kaitlyn Devrous                      Jason Poppe

Lacey- Kelsey Hart                             Daniel Moore

Lakewood- Julie Kerber                                       Joshua Watkins

Manchester- Shannon Jirkovsky                           Dylan Citron

Msgr. Donovan- Adam Vanore                          Michele Douvris

New Egypt- Courtney Natalicchio              Anthony Tucker

Pinelands- Matthew Worosz                     Natalie Barillaro

Point Beach- Joshua Peterson                      Faith Ratshin

Point Boro- Lucas Stegman                        Andrew Ruff

Southern- Sarah Hodgson                        Rachel Heussner

TR East- Matt Wedding                         Victoria Gil

TR North- Adam Gottesman                    James Fera

TR South- Gabriele Wardle                      Eli Worth

MATES- Jim Geddis                              Sapna Syal