Governor Chris Christie suspends the Red Light Camera Enforcement Pilot Program today. The decision was made over concerns about the timing of amber/yellow  light traffic signals.

The New Jersey Department of Transportation states that "they've ordered that the issuance of new violation summonses be suspended at the 63 intersections because it has come to their attention of the Department that the pilot program legislation specifies a formula to determine the proper duration of the yellow light in a traffic signal that differs from the legally required, nationally accepted formula that NJDOT or municipalities use when installing traffic signals. "

NJDOT has directed 21 of 25 municipalities that are participating in the pilot program to suspend issuing summonses to motorists on the basis of video evidence provided by cameras placed at intersections.

In order for the suspension to be lifted, towns participating in the program will have to certify that the timing on the amber signal's conform to prescribed statute.

The five-year pilot project was touted as a means of increasing road safety at notorious intersections, but reports of significant revenue spikes - and cost-effectiveness stipulations by a supplier - have led some State Lawmakers to allege that the real purpose is money.

Brick Township is one of the communities in the state participating in the red light camera pilot program. According to Brick Police Captain John Rein's latest figures, the cameras have generated more than $2 million dollars since they were launched in 2010.

The pilot program, authorized by an act of the Legislature in 2008 and implemented in 2009, aims to determine whether red light cameras promote safety by reducing the frequency and severity of crashes at intersections that have a history of motorists running red lights.

In earlier reports, Brick Township Police Officials reported  showing statistically fewer red light violation accidents at the intersections where the cameras have been installed.

The 19 participating municipalities are Brick, Cherry Hill, Glassboro, Newark,  Linden, Wayne, Palisades Park, Union Township, Springfield (Union County), Roselle Park, Rahway,  Englewood Cliffs, Pohatcong, Piscataway, Edison, East Windsor, Lawrence, Monroe and Stratford.