Regardless of how the rest of New Jersey swings on the Presidential scale, Ocean County's Republicans let out a deep red roar for Donald Trump, giving him a two-to-one edge in votes over Hillary Clinton in unofficial tallies.


Also cruising to easy wins were incumbent Republican Congressmen Tom MacArthur in District 3, Frank Lobiondo in District 2 and Chris Smith in District 12.

Ocean County Freeholder John Kelly returns for a new term, and appointee Ginny Haines captures her first full elected term. Sheriff Mike Mastronardy outdistanced Sal Ottaviano and Michael Osborn. Nearly all were by resounding two-to-one margins.

The statewide referenda met with defeat on both counts in Ocean County. New Jerseyans overall defeated the ballot question for gambling expansion into North Jersey, and approved full dedication of revenue from the increased state gasoline tax to the Transportation Trust Fund.

Winners in the contested local races:

Barnegat Township Committee - Albert Bille

Barnegat Township Committee, one-year unexpired term - Al Cirulli

Barnegat Light Borough Council - Frank Mikuletzky, Scott Sharpless

Bay Head Borough Council - Douglas J. Lyons, Robert Hein

Beach Haven Borough Council - Nancy Taggart Davis, Charles Maschal, Daniel Allen

Island Heights Borough Council - Melissa Wudzki, Sandra Snow

Lakewood Township Committee - Albert Akerman

Lavallette Borough Council - Robert Lamb, Michael Stodgill

Little Egg Harbor Township Committee - Barbara Jo Crea

Long Beach Township Commission - Joseph Mancini, Joseph Lattanzi, Ralph Bayard

Manchester Townshipo Council - James Vaccaro, Sam Fusaro, Charles Frattini

Mantoloking Borough Council, one-year unexpired term - Christopher Nelson

Ocean Township (Waretown) Committee - Ben Lo Paro

Ocean Gate Borough Council - Joella Nicastro, John Serpica

Pine Beach Borough Council - Barry Weick, Raymond Newman

Point Pleasant Borough Council - Joseph Furmato, Michael Tulen

Point Pleasant Beach Borough Council - Thomas Vogel, Thomas Toohey

Seaside Park Borough Council - Faith Liguori, Ray Amabile

South Toms River Borough Council - Gregory Handshy, Tanya Mosley

Toms River, Ward 2, one-year unexpired term - Kevin Geoghegan

Sign Up For The WOBM Newsletter