An agreement to partially refund some New Jersey drivers for fines they paid as a result of the red light camera program is on hold until a final 'approval of settlement' hearing that is scheduled for September 12th.

Red light camera at Route 1 and Bakers Basin in Lawrence (Dan Alexander, Townsquare Media NJ)

The legislature's most vocal critic of the red light cameras calls the program a rip off and says the paltry refunds are a slap in the face.

In 18 Garden State towns, red light cameras were not officially certified until July 25, 2012. Anyone who received a ticket at one of those intersections would be eligible for a partial refund, emphasis on the word, "partial."

While people were forced to pay fines as high as $140 dollars, after legal and other fees the average refund would be just $6 dollars.

"That's an outrageous slap in the face," says Assemblyman Declan O'Scanlon.

"It's a settlement that will make a lot of money for these attorneys, but it will do nothing to fix the system…A $6 dollar refund on an up to $140 dollar ticket is ridiculous."

The minimum refund should be 80 percent, according to O'Scanlon. Ideally, he thinks everyone should get 100 percent of their money back and he says his goal is to scrap the red light program entirely.

"The whole thing is a scam and it continues to be perpetrated on the motorists of New Jersey," claims O'Scanlon. "These systems are ripping people off every day. They continue to be a rip off now and we're going to do all we can to continue to fight them."

If approved, the refunds would only apply to American Traffic Solutions-operated red light cameras in the 18 towns in question.

Are You Eligible For a Refund?

If you received a red light camera ticket in one of the 18 towns before July 25th of last year you would be eligible. The municipalities are:

  • Brick
  • Deptford
  • East Brunswick
  • East Windsor
  • Glassboro
  • Gloucester
  • Jersey City
  • Lawrence
  • Linden
  • Monroe
  • Palisades Park
  • Piscataway
  • Pohatcong
  • Rahway
  • Roselle Park
  • Union
  • Wayne
  • Woodbridge