Monmouth County's 7 PM to 7 AM curfew is lifted for inland communities, but it's still in effect for those hugging the coast.

Monmouth County Courthouse (New Jersey Judiciary)

The countywide ban took effect Tuesday, say officials, in the interest of safety. Only essential personnel and emergency service workers had access to roads during the nights.

"We are now confident," says Sheriff Shaun Golden, "that the ban can be lifted for some of the county and appreciate the public's compliance in this important order." Municipal curfews that took effect either before or simultaneously with the county measure might still apply.

Communities still under the curfew are Aberdeen, Allenhurst, Asbury Park, Atlantic Highlands, Avon-By-The-Sea, Belmar, Bradley Beach, Brielle, Deal, Interlaken, Hazlet, Highlands, Keansburg, Keyport, Lake Como, Loch Arbour, Long Branch, Manasquan, Matawan, Middletown east of Route 36, Monmouth Beach, Sea Bright, Sea Girt, Spring Lake and Union Beach.