Amid the skirl of bagpipes at Georgian Court University in Lakewood, the next generation of Ocean County law enforcement takes shape with graduation ceremonies for 59 trainees of the county Police Academy in Waretown.

Recruit Kasey L. Collins of Bay Head PD offers salute to (l-r): Chaplain James Occhipinti, Police Academy Director Charles M. Dishon, Prosecutor Joseph D. Coronato and Freeholder Gerry P. Little

The recruits are from Special Law Enforcement Officer II classes 32 and 33.

“A lot of time, effort and especially dedication goes into being a peace officer," remarked Freeholder Director and Public Safety Director John Kelly. "I know all of these new officers will do a fine job as they protect our citizens and visitors.”

Ocean County Freeholder Gerry P. Little, who serves as liaison to the Ocean County Veterans Service Bureau, noted that four of the new officers also spent time in military service.

“I want to recognize Hugh B. Meehan III of the Point Pleasant Beach Police Department and Jason Nielsen of the Carteret Police Department for their service in the United States Marines," said Little. "And, I want to acknowledge Travis Woods and Isaac Loveland, both of the Point Pleasant Beach Police Department, for their service in the United States Navy."

Class 32 graduates include: Casey Chant, Anthony Chiarello III, David A. Cruz, Philip N. Forgione, Michael S. Geiger, Kyle L. Lamar, Luke R. Lanno, Michael T. Marco, Kevin R. McDermott, Kevin A. Meier, Ryan T. Morris, Anthony W. Pruchnik, Matthew Schou, Matthew J. Torbik, Ryker W. Toscano, and Joseph A. Vargovic, all of the Seaside Heights Police Department.

Also in Class 32 are Joseph DeQuarto and Jason R. Nielsen, Carteret Police Department; Jason J. Guide and William J. Hannon, Lavallette Police Department; Andrew G. Haldenwang, Beach Haven Police Department; Daniel E. Hourigan, and Casey M. McPartlin, Lakehurst Police Department, and Adam N. Sherer and Michael J. Wade, both of the Stafford Township Police Department.

Members of Class 33 are: Daniel A. Abbatemarco, Ryan S. Buck, Brendan T. Coutu, Keith M. French, Paul H. Golden, Gary J. Grimes, Kyle J. Hayes, Isaac S. Loveland, James F. McGuire, Hugh B. Meehan, III, Andrew J. Meyer, Jack C. Neary, Brian A. Newman, Zachary A. Sherman, Sean M. Signorello, Daniel C. Wehrle, and Travis L. Woods, all Point Pleasant Beach Police Department.

The balance of the class is Michael T. Alleman, Michael Baldasari, Brandon J. Burkhardt, Michael F. Herring, Ryan W. Nani, Patrick L. Nurthen, Destinee D. Quintero, Johnny J. Saada, Daniel J. Sullivan,  and James E. Tillett, Seaside Park Police Department; Kasey L. Collins, Bay Head Police Department; Scott J. Ferguson and Nicholas A. Massa, both of the Mantoloking Police Department; Gulrej S. Nandha and Cristian Pena, both of the Carteret Police Department; Richard B. O’Hagan, Ship Bottom Police Department and  Kevin M. Richards, Franklin Township Police Department.